Amtrak, we meet again.

Christmas break has come to an end, and it was a much needed time of rest and relaxation. Where I was able to wake up in the morning and come quietly downstairs, make a cup of coffee, and enjoy the stillness of our home in the early hours of the day. Where I was able to see friends from as old as elementary school, and as recent as this summer. The Christmas season during college is a bit strange. Part of me anxiously wishes I could be a child again, and relive all of the Christmas traditions I grew up with. But in reality, for most of the month of December, I feel as though I am consumed with deadlines, papers, and finals. And once I’m done, I feel as though I have to cram in as much Christmas festivities as possible in the following days. But the break was still a good one, and as I mentioned already, much needed. And now, my old friend Amtrak and I have been reunited. New York, I’m coming back. Let’s get along these next few months. How does that sound?

I really am excited for the new semester. I always like fresh starts. I am excited to see my friends again, to return to the city. I’ve been away long enough to miss it. I know that I am called to live in Manhattan, and that there is work to do there. I pray for the strength and joy needed sometimes to live there. I look forward to going to church tomorrow. I have missed my NY church.

Currently:

Eating: I’m still obsessed with avocados. I also made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies yesterday, partly because I wanted to avoid packing. I used this recipe http://bakingbites.com/2013/01/whole-wheat-dark-chocolate-chip-oatmeal-cookies-with-dried-cranberries/ but left out the cranberries. They are delightful! I’ll be eating mostly produce, rice, and beans this coming week. A wee bit of a detox from the break.

Reading: Amazing Grace by Eric Metaxas, a biography of William Wilberforce. It’s wonderful.

Listening to: Les Mis soundtrack. Isn’t everybody?

Holding on to this: “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.” Hebrews 6:19

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

