Summer Berry Cake

Friends, I’m about to get real wich ya. I totally made this cake last September. And yes, I am pulling these pictures our of my library and reposting them for this blog. But this cake was so good, it deserves to be talked about, even if I am a year late. This cake is perfect for summer, one because its so easy and two because its a great way to show off summer berries. The recipe comes from King Arthur Flour and if you know anything about them, you know that they almost always list ingredients in their recipes that you can only find on their website or from their catalog. Pretty sneaky, pretty sneaky. Usually I either ignore the obscure ingredient or simply don’t make the recipe. But this time, I actually had the magic ingredient in our pantry already, whick sealed this recipe’s fate in my opinion. The ingredient is Flori di Sicilia and I can honestly say I think it made a big difference in the cake. It imparted a lemony, citrus flavor that went so well with the berries. And the cake itself was moist and really, really good. Seriously, I might be making this cake in the next few days because now I WANT it. I hope you enjoy!

Late Summer Berry Torte

Original recipe: King Arthur Flour

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 to 1/4 tsp. Flori di Sicilia extract (optional)

1 cup all purpose flour

2 cups berries

2 tbsp. sugar mixed with 1 tsp. cinnamon, to sprinkle on top

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and grease an 8 or 9 inch square baking pan

2) Beat together the first 4 ingredients together until smooth

3) Add the eggs, beating until thoroughly combined. Stir in vanilla and optional flavor

4) Add the flour, mixing it into a smooth, stiff batter

5) Spread the batter into the pan

6) Spread the berries on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar

7) Bake in oven for 35-40 minutes, until a cake tester comes out clean, or cake is a light brown. Serve warm or at room temperature

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

