Pretzel Salad

I move in four days. Four. I honestly cannot believe that right now. And I’m so busy this week, I know these days will absolutely fly by. But no matter how busy you are, everyone has time for this salad. Or I guess I really shouldn’t use the word salad because people no knowing what this is might be picturing a plate of lettuce with pretzel crumbs on top. Oh no, my friends, this is much better. This is more along the lines of a southern “salad”, meaning there is no lettuce but there is always Cool Whip. This is a family classic, something I always saw at family reunions or picnics but I didn’t even dare to touch it until I was a teenager. If only I had known what I was missing….

This dish is sweet, creamy, cold and delicious. It begins with the best part, the pretzel crust. Basically a mixture of crushed pretzels, butter and sugar….HELLO!!! I could easily eat the crust by itself, and I say that unapologetically. Then the classic Cool Whip mixture goes on top of that and then its finished with crushed pineapple from a can. I heard that some recipes call for strawberries but my mom always uses pineapple, so that’s what I’m sticking with. This isn’t fancy, organic or refined but its home. And home tastes so good.

Pretzel Salad

recipe from my mom

1 cup crushed pretzel

1 stick butter, melted

1/2 cup sugar

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

8 oz. Cool Whip

1/2 cup sugar

20 oz. can crushed pineapple

3 Tbsp. cornstarch

1) Mix pretzels, butter, and sugar together and press into bottom of 9×13 pan or an 8×8 pan ( what my mom uses ).

2) Mix cream cheese, Cool Whip and sugar together in a mixer and spread over pretzel layer.

3) Mix pineapple ( juice and all ) with cornstarch and heat in microwave until thick. The recipe says 3 minutes but  my mom says it usually takes a little longer. Pour over cream cheese layer.

4) Chill and serve.

Quote: “I don’t believe in low fat cooking” – Nigella Lawson

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

