Recent favorites, four days, New York, I still love you.

I return to New York in four days to start my sophomore year. This is hard to believe in itself, but I am also moving into our new off campus apartment, which I still can’t get over. Summer has come to an end and what a summer it has been. I worked at a Christian summer camp for 10 weeks and it was incredibly challenging but also incredibly purposeful and rewarding. Here are some pictures:

Family on staff

 

High Ropes during Staff Training

Where I lived for 10 weeks, Take me back.

I feel different after this summer, after sharing the gospel to so many girls, after pushing through exhaustion, after being pulled and pushed out of my comfort zone. It was an amazing experience, and a summer I will always look back on.

Here are my current favorites:

Reading: Philippians, Ephesians, Antigone (a play for school, but I’m actually enjoying it!)

Eating: After a summer of camp food, all I’ve been craving is ice cream and salads. Weird but true.

Listening to: Hillson, John Mark McMillan, Bon Iver, Trevor Hall

Watching: The Olympics. And honestly, nothing else.

I’m going back to New York in four days, and I am so excited. I was more than ready for a break from the city in May but I’ve now been away for three months and I miss it more than I ever thought I would. But it does make sense. The city has so many memories from last year that I am so excited to return and make new memories. New York really does a number on you. When you’re in it, there are days where all you ever want to do is leave. But as soon as you do, all you can think about is when will you be back.

“One belongs to New York instantly, one belongs to it as much in five minutes as in five years.”
― Tom Wolfe

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

