What I eat

There is honestly no reason why anyone should want to read about what I eat, but it’s fun to write about sooooo…

I developed a love for cooking and baking in high school but my eating and cooking habits have definitely changed since coming to school. When you’re the one buying the groceries and doing all of the cooking/cleaning after a full day, you’re much less likely to try that new recipe from Ina Garten (who I adore. Luv her and always will) And the convenience of New York and all of it’s plentiful food options make cooking seem hard to justify after a long day. So here is what I seem to be unable to turn down:

1. Pret a Manger. Why do I freaking love this place? I’m not sure, maybe it’s there balsamic chicken avocado sandwich? Their “cup of goodness”? (plain yogurt, granola, cinnamon, and apples) Of maybe it’s because they have the best iced coffee and barbeque chips (my favorite afternoon snack last year) Yeah, it’s a little overpriced but I just can’t get enough.

2. Chipotle burrito bowls with brown rice, chicken, black beans, peppers and onions, corn salsa, pico de gallo, cheese, and lettuce. Amen.

3. Bagels with cream cheese from anywhere. MMMM.

4. I just discovered a chinese place near my apartment that has platters for $6. Huge containers of sesame chicken for $6? HELLO.

5. Salad from the salad bar in my school’s cafeteria. Again, why? I don’t know. This is nothing extravagant. I could easily buy the ingredients at the store and make a salad at home. But it just doesn’t taste the same. I pack mine full of veggies, chicken, cranberries, and the sesame ginger dressing. I am more than willing to shell out 6 bucks for this salad that I could literally get anywhere that offers a salad bar. I mean, 6 bucks adds up when you’re doing this twice a week! What am I doing..

As you can tell, when I do get food out it’s usually for convenience not the experience. Although I do have some favorite New York spots for an actual meal:

1. Shake Shack: Mmmmm. I could always eat a shack burger. It’s just so good.

2. Grey Dog: My favorite coffee shop/cafe near Union Square. Free refills on coffee and really, really great chocolate chip cookies.

3. Mad Dog and Beans: Mexican food on Stone Street. Best when warm outside to enjoy the outdoor seating on Stone.

And I cook too! Here are my staples:

1. Beans and rice and chicken. So cheap and easy and I top it with avocado and salsa, and pretend I’m at Chipotle.

2. Rice with chicken and stir-fry veggies with soy sauce.

3. Spaghetti and meat sauce made with ground turkey or ground beef, whatever is cheaper that week

4. Avocados with salt and crackers……when I don’t want to cook

5. White chicken chili. My favorite recipe. 4 ingredients, 1 pot of delicious goodness.

And when I am home, than I am able to experiment with new recipes. Because my mom’s pantry and fridge are full beyond my comprehension and I have the time to play around like I used to so much in high school. Can’t wait for Christmas break, where I can bake cookies just because I want to, and actually cook without having to go to the store to buy eggs. Because we always have eggs, and other essentials. Amen.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What I eat

  1. smithmarge@aol.com

    Dear Laura, I was delighted to find this in the mail today! Thank you so much! I have been meaning to write and thank you for the first essay we received several months ago, but failed to do it. I think that you are an absolutely brilliant writer and I hope you will keep it up. We learn more about you and your thoughts and feelings each time and are always happy to see mail from you! I had wondered if you were still interested in cooking and am glad to see that you are. The New York streets muse be so tempting. I still have not stopped yearning for the bread, tomato, cheese sandwich yet. We could make the same thing here but it would not taste nearly as good. I know you are busy at school and I am so glad that you are taking time to experience the big city. I hope that before you graduate you and your friends will get to see David Letterman. I have a serious crush on him! Will you go to see the tree lighting? Have you been to the Queens Museum of Art? Last year we saw something about on some forgotten show, but I remember that outside of the museum there was a scaled down replica of Queens that you can walk through and feel like Gulliver. I think that would be neat. I hope we will be able to see you at Christmas. Please take good care of your darling self. We are so proud of you and love you so very much. Lots of love, Grandma and Granddad

Leave a Reply

